

Originator: Rebecca M Boon Tel: 395 1970

Report of the Director of Environment and Housing Directorate

West Inner Area Committee

Date: 28th June 2007

Subject: Appointment of Co-optees to West Inner Area Committee

Electoral Wards Affected:	Specific Implications For:
Armley Bramley & Stanningley	Equality and Diversity
	Community Cohesion
Ward Members consulted (referred to in report)	Narrowing the Gap
Council Function Council Function available for Call In	Delegated Executive Function not available for Call In Details set out in the report

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

This report requests members to:

- approve the co-optee nominations to the Inner West Area Committee representing the wards of Armley, Bramley and Stanningley for the municipal year 2007-2008.

1.0 Background

- 1.1 Under Article 10 of the Constitution, there is provision for Area Committees to appoint up to 5 non-voting co-opted members to support the work of the Committee. Co-opted members can participate in debates but have no voting rights.
- 1.2 Co-optees represent the area and the residents of their ward and can contribute specific expertise to assist the Committees deliberations, for example through their involvement in business, the voluntary sector, with young people, with faith organisations or people with disabilities.
- 1.3 The Inner West Area Committee has been served to date by four co-optees, Peter Green and Jean Bedford from Bramley and Stanningley and Morgan Pugh and Hazel Boutle from Armley ward. These co-optees have provided excellent support to the Committee.

2.0 Renewal of Co-optee positions

2.1 At the Bramley and Stanningley Forum on 29th March 2008 Jean Bedford and Peter Green were nominated to continue their roles as co-optees to the Area Committee. The forum voted for them to continue in their positions.

2.2 At the Armley Forum on 19th June 2008, Morgan Pugh was nominated to continue in his role as representative to the Inner West Area Committee.

3.0 Recommendations

3.1 Outer West Area Committee members are asked to approve the above-mentioned co-optees to the Inner West Area Committee